Use this guide to find resources in biology, botany, forestry, ecology, and related disciplines.
Last Updated: Nov 1, 2013
Current Montana Tech students, staff, and faculty can use the Montana Tech Library's catalog, subscription databases and indexes, and other online resources from off campus.
No pre-registration needed! But off-campus access is restricted to current students, staff, and faculty.
To get help with your research, you can contact a librarian by calling 406-496-4282, email us, or just come into the library during regular hours.
Databases which are useful for biological sciences topics include:
Indexes publications and resources in all aspects of agriculture and allied disciplines, including animal and veterinary sciences, entomology, plant sciences, forestry, aquaculture and fisheries, farming and farming systems, agricultural economics, extension and education, food and human nutrition, and earth and environmental sciences.
- Annual Reviews
Synthesizes primary research, identifies principal contributions in more than 37 fields.
- Biological Sciences
Articles, conference proceedings, technical reports, monographs and selected books and patents in biomedicine, biotechnology, zoology, ecology, with some agriculture and veterinary science.
- CAB Direct
This resource covers the applied life sciences, including agriculture, animal and veterinary sciences, environmental science, human health and nutrition, microbiology and parasitology, and plant sciences.
Full-text archive from v.1, no. 1 to 2004 of titles in the biological sciences, botany and plant sciences, developmental and cell biology, ecology and evolutionary biology, aquatic science, general science, and zoology.
- JSTOR Plant Science
Citations and abstracts on all plant scientific aspects, especially on pathology, symbiosis, biochemistry, genetics, biotechnology, techniques and environmental biology.
- PLANTS Database
This database provides standardized information about the vascular plants, mosses, liverworts, hornworts, and lichens of the U.S. and its territories.
General science index, with full text articles from 1995, indexing from early '80s.
Biology, engineering, medicine, social science.
- CQ Researcher
In-depth topic overviews on current issues and subjects being debated or dealt with by Congress.
- Environment Complete
Ecosystem ecology, energy, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning and more
- Environmental Impact Statements: Digests
Detailed abstracts of Federal EIS statements, 1985 to present
- Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management
Comprehensive coverage of Environmental Sciences
Abstracts (no full text) of biology and medical articles selected by 10,000 experts
Undergraduate database for environment and environmental aspects of disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology.
MEDLINE (Medical Literature Analysis and Retrieval System Online) contains over 16 million references to journal articles in life sciences with a concentration on biomedicine. A distinctive feature of MEDLINE is that the records are indexed with NLM's Medical Subject Headings (MeSH). Covers from 1950 to the present, with increased life sciences coverage from 2000.
- Google Scholar
Like Google? Try Google Scholar, which retrieves content from JSTOR, ScienceDirect, Academic Search Premier, Business Source Premier, Medline/PubMed, and WorldCat. To set Montana Tech as your library, click Scholar Preferences and scroll down.
PubGet is a free journal index that delivers quick access to PDFs and full-text in the life sciences, particularly content from ScienceDirect and Medline/PubMed. Create an account and save articles on the website, or export them as RIS files to RefWorks. Note that it can get cross-wise of UM-Missoula's subscriptions and articles.