Want to know more about searching your favorite database? Use these tutorials and guides to learn about advanced searching and features! (May require plug-ins)
Montana Tech Library YouTube Channel - Tutorials on getting around the library home page, using Google Scholar, using library guides, and
research strategies in general.
Ebsco Databases - Search strategies for Ebsco databases such as Academic Search Complete, Cinahl and more
Emerald Database - Research How To Guides including Research Management and Research Methods & Methodology
Gale Databases - How-to's for Gale databases such as Business & Company Resource Center, Opposing Viewpoints and more
Introduction to the Library - A print overview of the resources at Tech Library and how to use them
JSTOR - Search strategies for the JSTOR database
RefWorks Basics - How to get started exporting and managing citations in RefWorks
ScienceDirect - Get the most out of the resources available on this database
Wiley - Online Library Training and Tutorials includes self-paced tutorials, workshops and user guides
Databases & Journal Indexes
Databases which are useful for computer science and software engineering include:
- Academic Search Complete (CS/software articles and reviews from popular and trade publications)
- Association for Computing Machinery (ACM) Portal (journals and publications of the ACM, full text)
- CiteSeerX (excellent free portal to scienfific publications in computer and information science)
- Communications & Mass Media Complete (human-computer interaction, software/graphic design articles)
- Emerald Journals (information science and management articles)
- Engineering Village (applied programming and information technology articles)
- Library, Information Science, & Technology Abstracts - LISTA (information technology and architecture, information management articles)
- Science Direct - (artificial intelligence, computer languages, robotics, infometrics)
- SpringerLink Journals - (algorithms, applied and computational mathematics, game theory)
- Wiley Interscience (general CS, programming, and information technology articles)
Note: for applications, programming, or information technology in specific settings or industries, click on the subject in our Databases by Subject list and look for a general database.
Many of our databases include the full text of the articles indexed.
If they don't, you'll usually see a link that says "Find the Article", "Search for Article", or "Link to Article". These links search our eJournals tool to see if we have the article in our journal collection, and link you to the article.
If we don't have the article, the link directs you to our interlibrary loan service.