This is the "Home" page of the "Guide for New Students" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Guide for New Students  

Last Updated: Nov 1, 2013 URL: http://libguides.mtech.edu/introduction Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Welcome

Welcome to the Montana Tech Library

The library is the place for all of your research needs.

The library has a myriad of books, journals and databases which will provide you with the information you are looking for.

This guide is intended to assist you in the beginning stages of your research.  It will help explain the use of our catalog and databases as well as a cursory overview of the library itself.

Always keep in mind that if you have questions or difficulties with library resources or your research process to please contact one of Montana Tech's  librarians, they will be more than happy to assist you in what ever way they can.

Montana Tech University Library Collection

The Montana Tech Library collection contains materials in support of research by students and faculty in the College of Letters, Sciences and Professional Studies, the School of Mines and Engineerings, and the College of Technology. More and more of the collection is in electronic formats inlcuding thousands of electornic journals as well as electronic books. The print collection is as follows:

CATALOGED BOOKS:
The Library of Congress Classification system is used to organize the book collection by subject matter with call numbers ranging from A-Z. The circulating books are housed on the second floor. Call numbers designated with REF (reference books) and BIB (bibliographies and indexes) are found on first floor and are non-circulating.

GOVERNMENT DOCUMENTS:
This collection houses information published by Federal, State and foreign agencies and is located on the second floor.

U. S. DOCUMENTS: Stored by the Superintendent of Documents Numbering System from A - Z designating particular governmental agencies. A special area is designated for local Superfund information.

STATE DOCUMENTS:
Stored alphabetically by State and subdivided by State Agency, this collection mainly includes geology and minerals selections. Montana Bureau of Mines and Geology publications are found in this section.

FOREIGN DOCUMENTS:
Stored alphabetically by country and subdivided by agency, this unique collection mainly includes geology and minerals materials from Canada, South America, Europe and Asia.

SERIALS:
Any publication (journals, periodicals, magazines) that is published in print on a regular basis. Serials are stored on the first floor and arranged alphabetically by title. A browsing area of the newest issues is organized by subject area and is located on the South side of the first floor.

MAPS AND ATLASES:
Maps are stored on second floor and include U.S.G.S. topographic maps for the Western states, geophysical investigations maps, geologic quadrangle maps , hydrologic investigations atlases, folio atlases, miscellaneous geologic investigations maps and Defense Mapping Agency maps. The Library of Congress call numbers with the prefix ATLAS designate atlases located on shelves adjacent to Reference collection on the first floor.

PATENTS:
Montana Tech Library is the designated Patent Trademark Depository Library in the State. A computer is provided on first floor for public use to search the U .S. patent and trademark CD-ROM database which provides a list of patents or trademarks. Brief descriptions of patents and trademarks can be found in the weekly journal, "Official Gazette", which the Tech Library stores from 1872 to present. Full-text patent documents are stored at Tech from 1981 to present.

ANNUAL REPORTS:
Includes reports from mining and mineral related companies and are found on the first floor.

SPECIAL COLLECTIONS:
Includes Montana-related guidebooks and rare and valuable books.

ARCHIVES
Includes the first copy of Montana Tech theses and materials related to the institution.

      

    Montana Tech Library

    Profile Image
    Montana Tech Library
    Contact Info
    1300 West Park Street
    Butte, MT 59701
    406-496-4281
    Send Email
    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip