LibGuides: Civil Engineering and science: Databases

Off Campus Access

Current Montana Tech students, staff, and faculty can use the Montana Tech Library's catalog, subscription databases and indexes, and other online resources from off campus. Just enter your Digger ID when prompted or your user ID & Password (the same one you use for your student email).

No pre-registration needed, but off-campus access is restricted to current students, staff, and faculty.

Academic Databases for Engineering and Science

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text content covering all academic disciplines. Content includes peer-reviewed journal articles, trade publications, magazine and newspaper articles, books, book reviews, reports, and Associated Press videos.
American Geophysical Union (AGU) Journals This link opens in a new window
Full-text peer-reviewed journal articles covering the earth and space sciences. Dates of coverage: the initial journal publication dates - present.
ASTM Standards & Digital Library (aka Compass Digital Library) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ASTM International is a standards organization that develops and publishes voluntary consensus technical standards for a wide range of materials, products, systems, and services. Online access to all versions of ASTM's ~13,000 standards, as well as digitized ASTM Manuals, monographs, STPs, Data Series, and nine professional journals. For off-campus access, please use the following steps:
• The first time you use ASTM, while on-campus, access ASTM online from the Library A to Z Database List.
• In the upper-right hand corner of the ASTM page, choose "sign-in/register".
• Register for an account with your MTECH email address.
• After following these steps, you can gain off-campus access by routing to ASTM Online from the A to Z Databases list.
• You will first be prompted to enter your Digger Username and Password. Then, on the ASTM page, use the ASTM username and password you created to sign in to ASTM Online.
Environment Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A mix of full-text articles and indexes to journals on public health, occupational health, energy, natural resources, ecology, and environmental law.
GeoScienceWorld This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text of 46 top-tier scholarly journals in the geological and earth sciences. Dates of coverage: 2000-present.
IEEE Xplore Digital Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The website of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers. The library doesn't have a subscription to this resource. Use this site to search for open access journals, conference proceedings, ebooks, etc.
After entering a keyword, click the "open access" box on the left of the screen to see the freely available resources.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The library's ScienceDirect journal package was cancelled for 2024. Some journal subscriptions were retained and can be searched here. Changes took effect on January 1, 2024. Read about the changes to the ScienceDirect subscription:
Ejournal Package Cancellation 2024
SPIE Digital Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Publications of SPIE - The international society for optics and photonics. Includes access to SPIE journals and over 400,000 conference proceedings.
Taylor & Francis Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text peer-reviewed articles covering science & technology, social science & humanities, and medical fields. Includes archival coverage dating back to volume 1 for many titles.
Dissertations and Theses Global, Proquest This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index to dissertations and theses from over 3,000 institutions in 88 countries. Full text coverage spans from 1743-present, with citation coverage dating back to 1637.
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text peer-reviewed articles covering science and the humanities.1997 - present. The library does not license all content offered on the Wiley site. The 'Full Access' lock icon denotes content available to Montana Tech users.