Click here to search the library catalog.
Enter a term into the search box and click on, "Search."
This takes you to a page where you have the option to refine your search with parameters such as:
EBook Tip: Use the table of contents to see if the electronic resource is pertinent to the search. When reading online, most people read a chapter or two of a book as opposed to a whole book.
To access databases from off-campus, you'll need to enter your network ID when prompted. Each time you access information in a new database, you'll be prompted to re-enter your network ID. Your network ID is the same login and password that you use to get into your university email.
There are two types of databases:
Multidisciplinary databases will help you with almost any search. They contain articles from many fields of study:.
2. Subject-Specific Databases:
Click here to access a list of databases to which the library subscribes. This list contains descriptions of the information that you will find in the databases. Try a subject search to find the databases that are specific to your field of study.
Search Tip: Begin your searches on the advanced search page. Take advantage of the opportunities to limit your searches to full-text only, to specific date ranges, to scholarly peer-reviewed articles, etc.
Interlibrary Loan: If you'd like to receive a book or an article that isn't in this library, use Interlibrary Loan. Click here to learn more and to create a free account.
Items that you can check out through Interlibrary Loan include:
It usually takes about ten business days to receive a physical item through Interlibrary Loan, but electronic items often arrive more quickly.
Please contact the Interlibrary Loan Specialist if you need assistance filling out the form. Once your account is set-up, you will be able to easily borrow items yourself.
Contact: Kristi Carroll, kcarroll@mtech.edu, 406-496-4222
The U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics
Mission Statement: The Bureau of Labor Statistics measures labor market activity, working conditions, price changes, and productivity in the U.S. economy to support public and private decision making.
Included in the information on this site is The Occupational Outlook Handbook. Use the Handbook to search for the occupation that you are researching. The handbook includes information such as job duties, working conditions, pay, and job outlook. After reading about your occupation, how do you imagine that strong writing skills will apply to your future career?
The library has a collection of print and electronic books for those of you exploring and learning about your future careers. Try searching this database for an eBook on potential careers:
Here are some examples of subject-specific databases that you can use if they are relevant to your topic.
Begin at the Database A-Z list to access any of them.
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window