LibGuides: Biological Sciences: Recommended Databases

Recommended Databases for Biology

These are some of the subject-specific databases that you can access through the Montana Tech Library:

Agricultural & Environmental Science Database This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text content covering environmental issues. Content includes TOXLINE, AGRICOLA, peer-reviewed journal articles, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and Environmental Impact Statements. Dates of coverage: 1960 - present.
ASTM Standards & Digital Library (aka Compass Digital Library) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ASTM International is a standards organization that develops and publishes voluntary consensus technical standards for a wide range of materials, products, systems, and services. Online access to all versions of ASTM's ~13,000 standards, as well as digitized ASTM Manuals, monographs, STPs, Data Series, and nine professional journals.

First time users will need to create a free account. You must be on a campus computer to create your ASTM account.

• In the upper-right hand corner of the ASTM page, choose "sign-in/register"

• Register for an account with your MTECH email address

• After following these steps, you can access Compass / ASTM from off-campus.
Birds of The World (Formerly Birds of North America) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedia of North American birds.
Comprehensive, authoritative information on over 10,700 species of birds across the world from four celebrated works of ornithology—Birds of North America and Neotropical Birds (originally published by the Cornell Lab) with Handbook of the Birds of the World Alive and Bird Families of the World ((originally published by Lynx Edicions). Integrates millions of bird observations from eBird, intelligent range maps, detailed family overviews, video and audio recordings of birds, and color illustrations from the Macaulay Library.
Environment Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A mix of full-text articles and indexes to journals on public health, occupational health, energy, natural resources, ecology, and environmental law.
Nature This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Online access to Nature and some affiliated journals online. Dates of coverage: 1997 - present. New users are required to create a free account to access content.
New England Journal of Medicine This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text peer-reviewed articles from the top medical journal.
PLOS This link opens in a new window
PLOS is a nonprofit, Open Access publisher empowering researchers to accelerate progress in science and medicine by leading a transformation in research communication.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes MEDLINE, a database of scholarly journal articles in the life sciences with a focus on biomedicine, and additional life science journals and online books. Fields include behavioral sciences, chemical sciences, and bioengineering. Links to full-text content when available.
ScienceDirect with UMM This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This UMM system-wide ScienceDirect journal package was cancelled in January 2024. Some subscriptions to select high-use journals were retained and can be searched here.
Springer Nature Link This link opens in a new window
Full text of over 50,000 scholarly e-books published by Springer 2005-2015 and over 2,200 e-journals with coverage dating back to volume 1 for many titles. Subjects include: biomedicine; business and management; chemistry; computer science; earth sciences; economics; education; engineering; geography; history; law; life sciences; literature; materials science; mathematics; medicine & public health; pharmacy; philosophy; physics; political science and international relations; psychology; social sciences; statistics. Deselect 'Include Preview-Only' from the top of a subject or content page to limit browsing to titles licensed by the library. NOTE: This Ejournal Package was cancelled beginning Jan 2021. The library retains perpetual access to content published between 2006 and 2020.
Taylor & Francis Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text peer-reviewed articles covering science & technology, social science & humanities, and medical fields. Includes archival coverage dating back to volume 1 for many titles.