Creative Writing - Poetry

There are many, many different forms of poetry, but here are a few of the classics. 

• Ballad: Topic

  In literature, short, narrative poem usually relating a single, dramatic event. Two forms of the ballad are often distinguished—the folk ballad, dating from about the 12th cent., and the literary ballad, dating from the late 18th cent.
• Blank verse

  From Encyclopedia of Renaissance Literature
  A line of blank verse typically contains 10 syllables. The first syllable of each foot receives a light stress and the second a heavier one. Within that general framework, individual feet of the line may depart from the norm to achieve variety, and line length may also vary by a syllable or two. Blank verse does not rhyme.
• Free verse

  From The Hutchinson Unabridged Encyclopedia
  Poetry without metrical form. At the beginning of the 20th century, many poets believed that the 19th century had accomplished most of what could be done with regular metre, and rejected it.
• Ode: Topic

  A lyric poem, usually a fairly long one, with lines of different lengths and complex rhythms, addressed to a particular person or thing.
• Poetry: Topic

  Imaginative literary form, particularly suitable for describing emotions and thoughts. Poetry is highly ‘compressed’ writing, often using figures of speech to talk about one thing in terms of another.
• Rondeau: Topic

  A poem of 13 or sometimes 10 lines with only two rhymes, and with the first line used as a refrain after the eighth and thirteenth lines.
• Sestina

  From The Princeton Encyclopedia of Poetry and Poetics
  The most complicated of the verseforms initiated by the troubadours (q.v.), the s. is composed of six stanzas of six lines each, followed by an envoi (q.v.) of three lines, all of which are unrhymed.
• Sonnet: Topic

  A short poem with 14 lines of 10 or 11 syllables each and a regular rhyming pattern according to the scheme: the Italian sonnet consists of an octave and a sestet, whereas the English sonnet consists of three quatrains and ends with a rhyming couplet.
• Triolet

  From The New Princeton Encyclopedia of Poetry and Poetics
  A French fixed form composed of eight lines and using only two rhymes, disposed in the following scheme: ABaAabAB (a capital letter indicates a repeated line).
• Villanelle

  From The Princeton Encyclopedia of Poetry and Poetics
  (from It. villanella, a rustic song, villano, a peasant). As known today, a 19-line poem with two rhymes and two refrain lines, in the form AJoA 2abAj abA2 abA¡ abA2 abA¡ A2, where capital letters indicate refrains. Fr. poet Théodore de Banville compared the interweaving a, b, and refrain lines to "a braid of silver and gold threads, crossed with a third thread the color of a rose."

https://credoreference.libguides.com/c.php?g=139780&p=915240

As with forms, there are many different genres and movements in poetry from ancient Greek to Surrealism to the New York school to cowboy poetry. Here is a short list of some of the established genres. 

• Computer poetry

  From The Princeton Encyclopedia of Poetry and Poetics
  Also known as e-poetry, digital poetry, new-media poetry, hypertext poetry, and computer poetry, all but the last of which have been used more or less interchangeably. Whereas once computer poetry might have been assumed to denote combinatory texts automatically generated from the formal rules and logic of a computer program (a practice dating back to the 1950s), the shift to electronic poetry is indicative of the much wider spectrum of creative activity now taking place,
• Concrete Poetry: Topic

  Poetry which conveys meaning through the physical arrangement of the words on the page as well as through the words themselves.
• Imagism

  From The New Princeton Encyclopedia of Poetry and Poetics
  A school of poetry which flourished in England and America between 1912 and 1914 and emphasized the virtues of clarity, compression, and precision.
• Modernism: Topic

  Modernism is based on a concern with form and the exploration of technique as opposed to content and narrative. In literature, writers experimented with alternatives to orthodox sequential storytelling.
• Narrative poetry

  From The Princeton Encyclopedia of Poetry and Poetics
  Narrative turns the raw material of story—the "telling" of a concatenation of events unfolding in linear time—into a (more or less) artful organization of those events that may complicate their chronology, suggest their significance, emphasize their affect, or invite their interpretation.
• New Formalism

  From The Princeton Encyclopedia of Poetry and Poetics
  A movement, largely in the U.S., that promoted the use of metrical verse technique and rhyme.
• Performance poetry

  From Key Concepts in Postcolonial Literature
  Performance poetry is largely known in the forms produced by Caribbean poets and African American poets, the latter clearly influenced by the radical politics of the 1950s/60s Beat poets Allen Ginsberg, Lawrence Ferlinghetti, Gregory Corso and Amiri Baraka (Leroi Jones).
• Romanticism: Topic

  A late 18c and early 19c movement in art, literature and music, characterized by an emphasis on feelings and emotions, often using imagery taken from nature, and creating forms which are relatively free from rules and set orders.
• Transcendentalism: Topic

  Transcendentalism was a series of new ideas that flourished among writers and philosophers in New England during the 19th century.