LibGuides: Microbiology: Databases

Databases & Off Campus Access

Current Montana Tech students, staff, and faculty can use the Montana Tech Library's catalog, subscription databases and indexes, and other online resources from off campus. Just enter your Digger ID when prompted or your user ID & Password (the same one you use for your student email).

No pre-registration needed, but off-campus access is restricted to current students, staff, and faculty.

Academic Databases for Microbiology

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text content covering all academic disciplines. Content includes peer-reviewed journal articles, trade publications, magazine and newspaper articles, books, book reviews, reports, and Associated Press videos.
American Society for Microbiology This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The American Society for Microbiology is a professional life science organization dedicated to promoting and advancing microbial sciences.
Nature This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Online access to Nature and some affiliated journals online. Dates of coverage: 1997 - present. New users are required to create a free account to access content.
ScienceDirect with UMM This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This UMM system-wide ScienceDirect journal package was cancelled in January 2024. Some subscriptions to select high-use journals were retained and can be searched here.
Taylor & Francis Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text peer-reviewed articles covering science & technology, social science & humanities, and medical fields. Includes archival coverage dating back to volume 1 for many titles.
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text peer-reviewed articles covering science and the humanities.1997 - present. The library does not license all content offered on the Wiley site. The 'Full Access' lock icon denotes content available to Montana Tech users.

Scientific & Medical Literature

Several types of articles can be found in the scientific and medical literature. Many databases allow you to limit your search to one of these types.

Review articles - These articles present what is known to date about a disease. Such articles may focus on the cause, diagnosis, treatment, or other aspects of a disease.
Basic science or laboratory research - These articles present original "basic" research or "laboratory" research.
Case reports (also called case studies) - These articles describe and discuss the clinical aspects of an individual with a disease. Such articles may also present unuusal or unexpected cases.
Articles discussing treatment - These articles discuss the effects in humans of various treatments that have been tested or used in a specific disease. Articles that discuss treatment may be about many different types of studies that are conducted in humans. Some of the more common studies include clinical trials, case-control studies, cohort studies, and case reports.